Conference week ahead: AGIT & GI-Forum in Salzburg

This week the largest GIS conference in German language takes place in Salzburg. The AGIT internet is a well-established, annual conference on applied geoinformatics combined with a huge exhibition. Parallel to the German language conference, the international GI-Forum internet is an ideal stage for presenting and discussing research projects and results from the forefront of GIScience.
This year I have the privilege to give presentations at both conferences. On wednesday I’m going to present my work on attributive quality of crowdsourced data at AGIT. I’ll show how assessment and correction routines can help to get out most of OSM data for routing analysis. On thursday I’m going to talk about a GIS model for automatic road quality assessment, independent from the data model and attribute structure at GI-Forum. This presentation is about parts of my ongoing research work for my PhD thesis.

Apart from my own contributions to the two conferences, there will be plenty of “personal highlights” this week. The GI-Forum will be kicked-off tomorrow evening with a keynote talk by André Skupien on knowledge visualization. I’ve heard him on this topic last year at the GeoViz in Hamburg. So I’m curious about what’s going to be new this time.
Wednesday will be my mobility and OpenStreetMap day. After Christoph Schlieder’s keynote on gamification I’m going to attend the session on traffic data capture and information. After my own presentation, the first full conference day will be crowned with the excellent OSM-forum internet with four very interesting presentations mainly on legal issues connected with OSM.
Thursday starts with a session on Austria’s harmonized road graph platform (GIP). As we are currently working with these data in a project, I’m excited about what’s new and even more what are expected trends and applications. Afterwards the latest developments of the bicycle routing platform www.radlkarte.eu internet will be presented to media and the interested public at the exhibition booth of our partner TraffiCon internet. During lunch break I’m going to meet with students and alumni of the UNIGIS internet study program. I’m really looking forward to face-to-face contacts with our online students! The afternoon will be packed with sessions and workshops – all about mobility. And finally I hope the wheather forecast holds true and the conference dinner will be outdoors!
On friday I’m planning to attend sessions on education and teaching. I’m especially curious about Anthony Robinson’s talk on his experiences with MOOCs in the field of GIS. In the afternoon Arnulf Christl chairs a rather informal session on FOSSGIS. I think, this will be an excellent (formal) closing event before those attendees who will stay until the very end will have the opportunity to enjoy a good glass of AGIT wine.

twitterBesides my own presentation slides, I’m going to provide a daily, personal summery on this blog. I’d be happy if you check back :-)
And don’t forget to follow #AGIT2014 and #GIForum2014 on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

